"First Census" of Kentucky, 1790

$ 16.75

Author:  Charles B. Heinemann

Published: 2005 paperback reprint of a 1940 original

Paperback, 118 pages

Condition:  Excellent

The first two federal censuses of Kentucky no longer exist; therefore, this "first census" of 1790 was developed from tax lists rather than population schedules. The territory covered includes the nine counties which comprised the entire State of Kentucky in 1790. Following the names of each of the 9,000 taxpayers is the name of the county of residence and the date of the return. At the rear of the book are the 1787 and 1788 tax lists for Fayette County, reproduced from another source.