$ 32.95

American engraver and historian John Warner Barber (1798-1885) was well known for his books on local, state, and national history. This work, first published in 1857, opens with an outline history of Connecticut and includes several interesting lists (New Haven planters in 1643 and all 127 persons holding land in Hartford in 1639, for example), as well as statistical tables from the 1840 and 1850 census. The content is then arranged by county in the order in which they were created: Hartford; New Haven; New London; Fairfield; Windham; Litchfield; Middlesex; and, finally, Tolland.

Alphabetical town profiles that contain newspaper extracts and biographies of some prominent and interesting residents follow a brief history of each county, including substantial history of persons that served in the Revolutionary War. As always, Barber includes fascinating and unique pieces of information that would otherwise be difficult to find. His attractive illustrations bring to life gravestones, churches, town commons, and historical scenes. There are even Revolutionary War-era plans of the “downtown” areas of Hartford and Middletown showing individual building occupants!

By John Warner Barber

Foreword by Christopher C. Child

paperback, 620 pages, illustrated

Translation missing: en.general.search.loading